Poetry at The Kitchen Garden Cafe`

Jacqui Rowe, poet and publisher (with poet Meredith Andrea) of the marvellous Flarestack Pamphlets has invited me to read at the Kitchen Garden café on Tuesday.
You can read an interview with Meredith and Jacqui on Abigail Morley’s blog.

James Sheard’s collection ‘Scattering Eva’ (Cape, 2005) was shortlisted for the Forward Prize for best first collection. His poems appear in the  anthology
‘Identity Parade’ (Bloodaxe, 2010.)

I’m really looking forward to hearing James read, and to the numerous floor spots.

Looking over what I’ve selected to take I realised that I have ten ‘old’ poems (that is poems from last year’s ‘The Sun Bathers’)  and eleven ‘new’ poems. This seems like a good balance, and I’m pleased I have so much new material.
I’ll have to check again that all these poems fit into a twenty-minute slot- I’m  obsessed with not over-running my allocated time-  and I’ll be reading through the set a few more times before Tuesday to make sure I’ve got my brief intro and links sorted out.

I look forward to seeing you there if you can make it. Here are the details.

POETRY BITES 7.30 pm 27th MAY, Kitchen Garden Cafe, York Road, Kings Heath, Birmingham B14 7SA (entry through Fletcher’s, a few yards up the road). To book a floor spot contact jacquirowe@hotmail.co.uk or arrive before 7.15 pm on the night. £5 (£4 concs) inc readers.

 

Leave a Reply

